Sustainable Transport Events at COP24

The 24th Conference of Parties (COP24) is held in Katowice (Poland) from 2nd to 14th December 2018. Various events at COP and off-site will discuss transport and climate change and work towards more ambitious transport climate actions.

If you are interested in organizing a transport event, please contact Mark Major: mark.major@slocatpartnership.org.

Contact Nikola Medimorec (nikola.medimorec@slocatpartnership.org) if you want to add any transport event to the overview below.

Picture above shows COP24 host city Katowice, taken by Therud.

 

Overview of Sustainable Transport Events

The overview will be updated constantly.

Monday – December 3rd
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
14:30 – 16:00 Clean Air Challenge: transport and heating solutions for better air quality EIT InnoEnergy EU Side Event Room Brussels, EU Pavilion TBD
18:30 – 20:00 Achieving the IMO GHG reduction objectives:
Fossil fuels, climate change and economic development
University College London and IPIECA Official Event COP Venue, Room 5 Jim Herbertson, jim.herbertson@ipieca.org
Tuesday – December 4th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
9:00 – 10:30 Creating a market for innovation. Experiences in funding environmental R&D projects in the problem-driven research approach NCBR Polish Pavilion Event Polish Pavilion TBD
10:00 – 11:15 MDB Event on E-Mobility World Bank MDB Pavilion Event MDB Pavilion TBD
10:15 – 11:30 Can Maritime Transportation Deliver on the Paris Agreement? TBD Nordic Pavilion Event Nordic Pavilion TBD
10:30 – 12:00 Electrification of mobility: a one-off opportunity for EU industry towards carbon neutrality by 2050 EIT InnoEnergy and Eurelectric EU Side Event Room Vienna, EU Pavilion TBD
10:30 – 12:30 Infrastructure, transport, energy storage ME Polish Pavilion Event Polish Pavilion TBD
11:30 – 12:30 Declaration Driving Change Together – Katowice Partnership for Electromobility COP Presidency Official Event Plenary Room Slask TBD
12:30 – 13:30 Innovative e-mobility technologies – presentations of companies TBD Polish Pavilion Event Polish Pavilion TBD
12:30 – 13:45 Panel Discussion: the Future of Electromobility COP Presidency Official Event Plenary Room Slask TBD
13:15 – 14:30 Do We Even Need Railroads and Ships in the 21st Century? TBD Nordic Pavilion Event Nordic Pavilion TBD
13:30 – 15:00 Leader of electromobility PSPA and PwC Polish Pavilion Event Polish Pavilion TBD
15:00 – 16:00 CORSIA-deal and Carbon-Neutral Growth in Aviation – Will These Policies Deliver Needed Reductions? TBD Nordic Pavilion Event Nordic Pavilion TBD
16:00 – 16:45 No Tarce Expedition 2019 – Around the world by electric car COP Presidency Official Event Plenary Room Slask TBD
16:00 – 19:30 Sustainable business & wind farms on the Baltic ORLEN Polish Pavilion Event Polish Pavilion TBD
17:00 – 18:00 Leapfrogging to Electric Mobility as a strategy to decarbonization in Latin America Costa Rica, NDC Partnership, UN Environment and Transport Decarbonisation Alliance NDC Partnership Pavilion Event NDC Partnership Pavilion TBD
Wednesday – December 5th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
13:30 – 15:30 From the skies or the sea: How can regulation align international transport with the Paris goals NewClimate Institute, European Commission (Climate Action) and Transport & Environment EU Side Event Room Brussels, EU Pavilion TBD
18:30 – 20:00 Innovative climate technologies and sustainable maritime transport for a climate resilient industry UN Official Side Event Room 1 Cassandra Pillay, C.Pillay@unido.org
Thursday – December 6th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
9:00 – 18:00 Transport Day 2018 CIVITAS, City of Katowice, PPMC Off-Site Event Miejski Dom Kultury Chris Dekki, chris.dekki@slocatpartnership.org
18:00 – 22:00 Clean Mobility Reception CIVITAS, City of Katowice, PPMC Off-Site Event Pałac Goldsteinów, pl. Wolności 12a Alice Yiu, alice.yiu@slocatpartnership.org
Friday – December 7th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
10:00 – 10:45 Countries, Cities and Companies working together to decarbonise transport Transport Decarbonisation Alliance Action Hub Event Action Hub Mark Major, mark.major@slocatpartnership.org
10:30 – 12:30 Transport Decarbonisation – How to make it happen! Transport Decarbonisation Alliance and IDDRI French Side Event French Pavilion Adele Fardoux, adele.fardoux@i-carre.net; Yann Briand, yann.briand@iddri.org
10:00 – 11:15 Smart and Green Transport for Sufficient Society Eco-Mo Foundation Japan Side Event Japan Pavilion Masaru Kumai, m-kumai@ecomo.or.jp
11:00 – 12:00 MP Transport: How to include transport in NDCs UNFCCC, Marrakech Partnership Action Hub Event Action Hub TBD
13:00 – 14:00 Shared Mobility: The Power to Slash CO2 International Transport Forum Action Hub Event Action Hub TBD
15:00 – 18:00 Global Climate Action event – Transport UNFCCC / Transport Content Group Official Event COP Venue Mark Major, mark.major@slocatpartnership.org
15:00 – 16:30 Transnational Transportation Policy Collaboration in North America & Europe Georgetown University and Université de Montréal (UdeM) Official Side Event Room 5 Joanna Lewis, jil9@georgetown.edu
Mark Purdon, mark.purdon@iqcarbone.org
16:45 – 18:15 Contributions of international transport to global climate mitigation Oeko Institute and Transport & Environment Official Side Event Room 5 Lucy Gilliam, lucy.gilliam@transportenvironment.org
18:30 – 20:00 Policy Pathways for Decarbonising Transport ITF, UITP and UIC Official Side Event Room 5 Wei-Shiuen Ng, wei-shiuen.ng@itf-oecd.org,
Philip Turner, philip.turner@uitp.org,
Marie Luz Philippe , PHILIPPE@uic.org and Carole Escolan Zeno <ESCOLAN-ZENO@uic.org
Saturday – December 8th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
9:00 – 10:00 Launch of the Transport and Climate Change Global Status Report 2018 SLoCaT Action Hub Event Action Hub Karl Peet, karl.peet@slocatpartnership.org
9:00 – 10:00 Transport NDC´s and Transport Action in the Islamic Development Bank´s region SLoCaT and IsDB MDB Side Event MDB Pavilion Karl Peet, karl.peet@slocatpartnership.org
10:00 – 11:30 Accelerating the transition to zero emission vehicles International Zero-Emission Vehicle Alliance UK Pavilion Event UK Pavilion Rob Gould, rob.gould@olev.gsi.gov.uk; Dale Hall, d.hall@theicct.org
10:00 – 12:30 Site Visit to Alstom Manufacturing Facility Alstom Technical Visit (Invite-only) Alstom Facility, Katowice Isabelle Tourancheau-Grigoriev, isabelle.tourancheau-grigoriev@alstomgroup.com
10:30 – 12:00 EUROCLIMA+ in action:
Promoting sustainable urban mobility together with local actors in Latin America
European Commission – DEVCO G2 and European Commission (International Cooperation and Development) EU Side Event Room Brussels, EU Pavilion Guillermo Dascal, guillermo.dascal@euroclimaplus.org
11:15 – 12:45 Decarbonising city and road transportation Ministry for Innovation of Poland, The Polish Biofuel Chamber and the Climate Ethanol Alliance Polish Pavilion Event Polish Pavilion Zoltán Szabó, zoltan.szabo@latensdimenzio.com
13:30 – 15:00 From COP23 to COP24: A year of action for MobiliseYourCity Partnership MobiliseYourCity Partnership French Pavilion French Pavilion Maël Martinie, mmartinie@codatu.org
14:30 – 16:00 Transport Solutions for a Transition to Low Carbon Economies in Africa AfDB- PICU 2 African Development Bank (AfDB) Pavilion Event African Development Bank (AfDB) Pavilion TBD
17:30 – 19:00 Mobility transition in our cities: Prioritising people – decarbonising transport Transformative Urban Mobility Initiative (TUMI) TUMI Side Event German Pavilion Armin Wagner, armin.wagner@giz.de
Monday – December 10th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
16:30 – 18:00 Roundtable Oceans and Transport UNFCCC / Transport and Oceans Content Groups Official Event COP Venue Mark Major, mark.major@slocatpartnership.org
17:30 – 19:00 A matter of urgency: How to get transport on a fast track to decarbonization Agora German Pavilion Event German Pavilion TBD
Tuesday – December 11th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
15:00 – 16:30 Sustainable Mobility: Global Climate Action on Transport – Transport Decarbonisation Alliance The Netherlands, Ministry of Infrastructure and Water Management; Transport Decarbonisation Alliance Benelux Pavilion Event Benelux Pavilion Mario Fruianu, Mario.Fruianu@minienm.nl
17:30 – 18:00 Transport and Climate Change Global Status Report 2018 Press Conference SLoCaT Press Conference Press Center Karl Peet, karl.peet@slocatpartnership.org
Wednesday – December 12th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
16:30 – 18:00 Electric Mobility – A way to develop green cities Morocco and IRESEN Moroccan Pavilion Event Moroccan Pavilion benabdelaziz@iresen.org
Thursday – December 13th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
10:30 – 12:00 Decarbonisation of EU Transport – long term strategy Transport & Environment, Oeko Institute, UN and Wuppertal Institute EU Side Event Room Brussels, EU Pavilion Lucy Gilliam, lucy.gilliam@transportenvironment.org
16:45 – 18:15 Technological Transfer in Transport Sector for Pacific Clean Transport implementation Pacific Islands Development Forum* (PIDF) Official Side Event Room 1 Mark Borg, mark.borg@pidf.int
Friday – December 14th
Time Title of the Event Organizers & Co-organizers Type of the Event Venue Contact Person
11:30 – 12:30 Transforming maritime transport:
Global policy action and the role of SIDS/LDCs
University College London and University of the South Pacific Pacific & Koronivia Pavilion Event Pacific & Koronivia Pavilion Daniel Besley, dbesley@worldbank.org
13:15 – 14:45 Ghana’s Premier Emission Reduction Agenda: Cocoa Forest REDD+ Programme and Electric Bus Project HATOF Foundation and Ghana Official Side Event Room 2 Samuel Confidence Dotse, atenviron@hotmail.com
MaryJane Enchill, mjane.enchill@gmail.com